…2 Years Later

September 3, 2009 at 4:52 pm 1 comment

Well, it’s been so long since I posted here, I almost forgot I still had this blog registered.

So much has happened.

The last time I posted was around the time of patch 2.1 in TBC. I had just levelled my first character (Orc Hunter) to 70, geared up through normal dungeons, and cleared Kara and Gruul. This is how the rest of TBC went for me:

* The guild I was in at the time stagnated into a Kara farming guild. They didn’t have the skill to kill anything harder than Lurker or VR, so Kara was the path of least resistance. After a while, I got bored of this and started to level alts.

* By the time patch 2.3 hit, I had 4 level 70s. The same (now fully kara geared) BM Hunter, a Destro Warlock, a Druid (feral spec) and a Paladin (Prot). When 2.3 badge of justice gear was released, I began to spam heroics whenever possible. Before long, I was geared in T5 equivalent in all toons except the Druid.

* Newer players to our guild, looking for a new challenge, began to attempt Zul’Aman and Mount Hyjal. After a few weeks, it started to click. Around this time, my guild became a more serious, progression oriented guild (Although being months behind actual progression, we were in the top 10 horde guilds on our server).

* I became addicted to raiding and heroics. Due to me running heroics at all times of the day on a variety of toons, I became friends with a group of players who played late at night. Most of these players hailed from Singapore and Malaysia, and therefore were in the same timezone as me (Perth, +8gmt)

* These players eventually banded together to form a late-night raiding guild. I joined the guild on my Warlock, while keeping my Hunter in my original guild, which was now 4/5 Hyjal and attempting Black Temple. I was raiding 6 hours per night. 2 3 hour raids, one after another.

* The new guild progressed extremely quickly, downing 3/4 TK, 5/6 SSC, and 4/5 Hyjal and 3/9 BT in less than 2 months. By the time 3.0 hit, my hunter in the original guild had achieved the Hand Of Adal title (Killing both Kael-Thas and Lady Vashja couple of weeks before 3.0). 3.0 signalled the end of TBC raiding for me, because it was a lolfest and nobody was interested. Many people in both guilds took time off from WoW in preparation for the expansion.

So I never progressed beyond Shade Of Akama in TBC. Archimonde never went down for us (Best attempts were about 60%). My 2nd guild attempted Teron Gorefiend but had too many players unable to deal with their constructs.

* By this stage I had levelled my 5th character to level 70, a resto Shaman.

WRATH OF THE LICH KING

WOTLK hit when I was at the height of my WoW obsession. I spent hours each day poring over forums at places like Elitist Jerks, Maintankadin, the WoW forums and many others. I had extensive knowledge of 5 classes, I was class leader of 2 different classes in 2 different guilds. I had also acquired a pretty good knowledge of tanking after running hundreds of heroics as a prot paladin. I had experience healing as a shaman.

The day WOTLK was released, the race was on. Myself and the 2 other full-time hunters in my original guild raced each other to 80. I came 2nd, while the winner, Razero, got the realm first level 80 troll achievement. But things had changed a lot.

The change that had the biggest effect on our guild was the buffing of hybrid classes. Far from being classes that had terrible DPS, but brought a few key buffs in TBC, WOTLK shamans, druids, paladins and priests all of  a sudden could bring the hurt. This had the effect of tempting many of our healers to covet DPS roles. Still more people rerolled to Death Knights and Ret Paladins (who had gone from awful to completely overpowered in 1 patch). The end result was that our guild was short healers, badly.

As an officer at the time, I took the responsibility of filling the gap myself. Of my level 70s, I figured the druid would easiest to get to level 80 with, and powerlevelled him up in a few days to spec resto. I raided Naxx as resto with my original guild for a couple of weeks until the proverbial shit hit the fan, with a combination of burnout and guild drama resulting in 4-5 of the best players in the guild either transferring or quitting the game altogether. After they left I felt like a bit of an outsider in my own guild and decided to make a change.

I took a punt, and apped (as a Resto Druid) to the best Horde guild on my server. Surprisingly enough they accepted me almost straight away, and even more surprisingly to me, I actually enjoyed raiding as a resto druid. And I was good at it.

The new guild was well-run, with very little personal dramas, and a focus on raiding first and foremost. We blazed through the original WOTLK content, and were the first Horde guild to down Sarth 3 drakes on 25-man mode. But after that, everything went to shit. We still had over 2 months before Ulduar was released, and nothing to do except farm Naxx and Sartharion.

After being completely obsessed with WoW from the first time I played in June 2007, until January 2009, I burnt out.  I had so many other things to do in my life, and WoW was sucking all of the time that I had to them. So I quit playing altogether. I gave my account to a guildy, deleted all my bookmarks concerning WoW. I spent the next 2 months concentrating on cricket, and went out drinking and partying a lot more than I previously had when WoW had it’s hold on me. It was summer in Australia, why stay home?

In April I went overseas for 4 months. Got home in July. And suddenly found myself here, with nothing to occupy my time, stuck at home because of terrible weather, and with my GF visiting her parents in Taiwan, all alone. So, just for a laugh, I decided to armory my 3 level 80s and see what kind of gear they had. I had thought the guildy I left the characters with would do some PvPing on them, or possibly raiding.

Nothing had changed on any of my characters since April. And even more confusingly, nothing had changed on my guildy’s character in that time either. So I logged into my old guild’s forum website to see what was going on. Turns out, they had disbanded not long after I left, with our Raid Leader suffering the same burnout and quitting raiding altogether. Most of the players in the guild had transferred off the server.

My account was unused, and the temptation of seeing the new content was too much to resist. So I downloaded WoW, reactivated my account, and logged back in to the biggest time sink the world has ever known….

That was 3 weeks ago.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

A Collection Of Funny WoW Ads Am I Allowed To Post Now?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. jarren  |  February 3, 2010 at 4:26 am

    wow my dad gf said i would get burnt out on that game but i said that wont bo al long time from now and from the reading i was right you had THREE LVL 80s by that time so cool im a noob like real noby… … … im a lvl 14 hunter troll in the realm duratan-us i cant play for like 1 to 2 more months cause i got grounded brout a HOME MADE CROSSBOW to school didnt fire it just fell out of my bag and the teacher found it,

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 50,539 hits

